2026 GMC Sierra EV
The cited maximum for a 2026 GMC Sierra EV is 12,500 lb conventional. Elevation Extended Range, or Denali Extended Range with 11 kW AC charging and coil suspension; dual-motor e4WD Crew Cab.
The build table for 2026 is not transcribed. This page will not multiply trims, cabs, and engines into trucks the order guide did not list.
| Hitch | Cited maximum | Configuration | Source grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conventional | 12,500 lb | Elevation Extended Range, or Denali Extended Range with 11 kW AC charging and coil suspension; dual-motor e4WD Crew Cab. | OEM chart |
Battery and trim change the rating. This chart ranges from 8,500 to 12,500 lb. Its maximum is not a payload figure or a towing-range estimate.
Source: GMC, 2026 Sierra EV Max Trailering. Trim/battery-level maxima, not VIN-specific limits. Denali Extended Range requires 11 kW AC charging and coil suspension for the listed maximum. Bed dimensions and payload are not stated in this chart.
Spec sheet
7 of 25 fields cited; 1 estimate. Field index
Cited fields may cover selected trims or only part of a measurement. Read the configuration and source beside each value; a cited field does not mean every version is researched.
Towing
- Conventional maximum
- 12,500 lb. Elevation Extended Range, or Denali Extended Range with 11 kW AC charging and coil suspension; dual-motor e4WD Crew Cab.GMC source
- Gooseneck maximum
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Fifth-wheel maximum
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Tongue or pin load
- 1,250 lb tongue at the 12,500 lb conventional maximum. Illustration at 10 percent conventional and 15 percent in-bed, not a measured load or recommendation. Follow the trailer and vehicle instructions; actual load may be higher.Estimate
- Weight distribution
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Trailer frontal area
- Not transcribed for this model year.
Weights
- Payload
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- GCWR
- 21,400 lb (Crew Cab, Not specified in chart, axle n/a); 19,700 lb (Crew Cab, Not specified in chart, axle n/a); 16,600 lb (Crew Cab, Not specified in chart, axle n/a)GMC source
- GVWR
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Front GAWR
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Rear GAWR
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Curb weight
- Not transcribed for this model year.
Body
- Wheelbase
- 146 in, rounded in the fleet guide.General Motors source — PDF page 33: Wheelbase
- Bed length
- Nominal 5-ft 10-in box.General Motors source — PDF page 33: Bed length
- Bed width and depth
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Cab-to-axle
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Overall length, width, height
- 233.4 in long; 83.8 in wide excluding mirrors. Heights: Elevation 78 in; AT4 79.9; Denali 78.1 without Air Ride / 78.7 with Air Ride Adaptive Suspension.General Motors source — PDF page 33: Overall length, width, height
- Ground clearance and angles
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Fifth-wheel clearance
- Not transcribed for this model year.
Power
- Engine, horsepower, torque
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Transmission
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Fuel type and tank
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Drivetrain
- 4WDGMC source
- Axle ratio
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Tow package
- Elevation Extended Range; Denali Extended Range; AT4 Extended Range; AT4 Max Range; Denali Max Range; Elevation Standard Range; Denali Standard RangeGMC source
Bed, tongue weight, and wheelbase
The trailer rating is one limit. The bed has to fit the load, the tongue or pin has to fit in payload, and the wheelbase is the column the chart uses.
- An illustrative 10 percent of the 12,500 lb conventional maximum is 1,250 lb of tongue weight. This is not a measured load or recommended percentage; actual load may be higher.
Bed capacity · Tongue and pin weight · Wheelbase · GCWR, GVWR, and GAWR. The spec sheet above lists the sourced wheelbase information for this year. See the spec sheet for the sourced GCWR and its configuration.
Estimate payload margin and bed volume · How these limits work together
Change from 2024
- Conventional: 10,000 lb in 2024, 12,500 lb in 2026 (+2,500 lb).
Generation
First generation
2026 is year 3 of this generation (2024–2026). Electric Sierra. No cited towing chart is on file.
Configuration chart
These are transcribed cells, not the entire factory chart. A missing row is missing, not a zero.
| Trailer | Engine | Cab / bed | Drive | Axle / package | GCWR | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12,500 lb Conventional | Dual electric motors | Crew Cab, Not specified in chart | 4WD | Elevation Extended Range · Trim/battery maximum; occupants, cargo, and equipment can reduce the available capacity. | 21,400 lb | GMC Page 1, Elevation Extended Range row |
| 12,500 lb Conventional | Dual electric motors | Crew Cab, Not specified in chart | 4WD | Denali Extended Range · Maximum requires 11 kW AC charging and coil suspension (footnote 3). | 21,400 lb | GMC Page 1, Denali Extended Range row |
| 12,300 lb Conventional | Dual electric motors | Crew Cab, Not specified in chart | 4WD | AT4 Extended Range · Trim/battery maximum; occupants, cargo, and equipment can reduce the available capacity. | 21,400 lb | GMC Page 1, AT4 Extended Range row |
| 10,200 lb Conventional | Dual electric motors | Crew Cab, Not specified in chart | 4WD | AT4 Max Range · Trim/battery maximum; occupants, cargo, and equipment can reduce the available capacity. | 19,700 lb | GMC Page 1, AT4 Max Range row |
| 10,200 lb Conventional | Dual electric motors | Crew Cab, Not specified in chart | 4WD | Denali Max Range · Trim/battery maximum; occupants, cargo, and equipment can reduce the available capacity. | 19,700 lb | GMC Page 1, Denali Max Range row |
| 8,500 lb Conventional | Dual electric motors | Crew Cab, Not specified in chart | 4WD | Elevation Standard Range · Trim/battery maximum; occupants, cargo, and equipment can reduce the available capacity. | 16,600 lb | GMC Page 1, Elevation Standard Range row |
| 8,500 lb Conventional | Dual electric motors | Crew Cab, Not specified in chart | 4WD | Denali Standard Range · Trim/battery maximum; occupants, cargo, and equipment can reduce the available capacity. | 16,600 lb | GMC Page 1, Denali Standard Range row |
What changes the number
- Engine and transmission
- Cab, bed, and wheelbase
- Two-wheel drive, four-wheel drive, or all-wheel drive
- Axle ratio and tow package
- Conventional hitch versus fifth-wheel versus gooseneck
- People, options, and cargo, which spend payload the chart assumed was empty
Questions
- How much can a 2026 GMC Sierra EV tow?
- The cited maximum for a 2026 GMC Sierra EV is 12,500 lb conventional. Elevation Extended Range, or Denali Extended Range with 11 kW AC charging and coil suspension; dual-motor e4WD Crew Cab.
- Did Sierra EV towing change for 2026?
- Compare the cited 2026 figures on this page with the 2024 record. They are stored separately.
- Which configuration hits the maximum?
- Elevation Extended Range, or Denali Extended Range with 11 kW AC charging and coil suspension; dual-motor e4WD Crew Cab.
- What tongue weight should I plan for a 2026 Sierra EV?
- At the cited 12,500 lb conventional maximum, an illustrative 10% assumption produces 1,250 lb of tongue weight. This is not a recommended percentage or a measurement; follow your trailer and vehicle instructions and measure the actual load. That load counts against payload and the rear axle rating.