2026 GMC Canyon
The cited maximum for a 2026 GMC Canyon is 7,700 lb conventional. Crew Cab, 2.7L TurboMax, 3.42 axle and 13,250 lb GCWR. AT4X is 6,000 lb; AT4X AEV Edition is 5,500 lb.
The build table for 2026 is not transcribed. This page will not multiply trims, cabs, and engines into trucks the order guide did not list.
| Hitch | Cited maximum | Configuration | Source grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conventional | 7,700 lb | Crew Cab, 2.7L TurboMax, 3.42 axle and 13,250 lb GCWR. AT4X is 6,000 lb; AT4X AEV Edition is 5,500 lb. | OEM chart |
Source: GMC, 2026 Canyon trailering chart. PDF visually reviewed. AT4X and AT4X AEV Edition have separate limits. A published chart cell is not an order-guide verification of every trim.
Spec sheet
11 of 25 fields cited; 1 estimate. Field index
Cited fields may cover selected trims or only part of a measurement. Read the configuration and source beside each value; a cited field does not mean every version is researched.
Towing
- Conventional maximum
- 7,700 lb. Crew Cab, 2.7L TurboMax, 3.42 axle and 13,250 lb GCWR. AT4X is 6,000 lb; AT4X AEV Edition is 5,500 lb.GMC source
- Gooseneck maximum
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Fifth-wheel maximum
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Tongue or pin load
- 770 lb tongue at the 7,700 lb conventional maximum. Illustration at 10 percent conventional and 15 percent in-bed, not a measured load or recommendation. Follow the trailer and vehicle instructions; actual load may be higher.Estimate
- Weight distribution
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Trailer frontal area
- Not transcribed for this model year.
Weights
- Payload
- Published maxima: Elevation 2WD 1,670 lb; Elevation 4WD 1,610; AT4 1,570; AT4X 1,260; Denali 1,390. Actual options reduce carrying capacity.General Motors source — PDF pages 122–123: Payload
- GCWR
- 13,250 lb (Crew Cab, Not specified in chart, 3.42); 11,600 lb (Crew Cab, Not specified in chart, 3.42)GMC source
- GVWR
- Elevation 2WD: up to 6,100 lb. Elevation 4WD, AT4, AT4X and Denali: up to 6,250 lb.General Motors source — PDF pages 122–123: GVWR
- Front GAWR
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Rear GAWR
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Curb weight
- Not transcribed for this model year.
Body
- Wheelbase
- 131.0 in, Crew Cab with 5-ft box, as rounded in the fleet guide.General Motors source — PDF pages 122–123: Wheelbase
- Bed length
- Nominal 5-ft box. Exact floor length is not specified in this guide.General Motors source — PDF pages 122–123: Bed length
- Bed width and depth
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Cab-to-axle
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Overall length, width, height
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Ground clearance and angles
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Fifth-wheel clearance
- Not transcribed for this model year.
Power
- Engine, horsepower, torque
- TurboMax: 310 hp / 430 lb-ft.General Motors source — PDF pages 122–123: Engine, horsepower, torque
- Transmission
- 8-speed automatic.General Motors source — PDF pages 122–123: Transmission
- Fuel type and tank
- Not transcribed for this model year.
- Drivetrain
- 2WD, 4WDGMC source
- Axle ratio
- 3.42GMC source
- Tow package
- 13,250 lb GCWR tier; AT4X; AT4X AEV EditionGMC source
Bed, tongue weight, and wheelbase
The trailer rating is one limit. The bed has to fit the load, the tongue or pin has to fit in payload, and the wheelbase is the column the chart uses.
- An illustrative 10 percent of the 7,700 lb conventional maximum is 770 lb of tongue weight. This is not a measured load or recommended percentage; actual load may be higher.
Bed capacity · Tongue and pin weight · Wheelbase · GCWR, GVWR, and GAWR. The spec sheet above lists the sourced wheelbase information for this year. See the spec sheet for the sourced GCWR and its configuration.
Estimate payload margin and bed volume · How these limits work together
Change from 2025
- Conventional: 7,700 lb in 2025, 7,700 lb in 2026 (unchanged maximum, different source or equipment list).
What was different in 2026
- The 2026 Colorado chart is not copied onto the Canyon. Use the 2025 Canyon citation or a GMC label for a specific truck.
Generation
Third generation
2026 is year 4 of this generation (2023–2026). Current Canyon, with the 2.7L turbo. The 2025 maximum is cited from Kelley Blue Book. The 2026 Colorado chart is not copied onto the Canyon.
Configuration chart
These are transcribed cells, not the entire factory chart. A missing row is missing, not a zero.
| Trailer | Engine | Cab / bed | Drive | Axle / package | GCWR | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7,700 lb Conventional | 2.7L TurboMax | Crew Cab, Not specified in chart | 2WD | 3.42 · 13,250 lb GCWR tier · Proper equipment required. This row transcribes the OEM towing chart; order-guide availability is not independently verified. | 13,250 lb | GMC Page 1, First row, 2WD column |
| 7,700 lb Conventional | 2.7L TurboMax | Crew Cab, Not specified in chart | 4WD | 3.42 · 13,250 lb GCWR tier · Proper equipment required. This row transcribes the OEM towing chart; order-guide availability is not independently verified. | 13,250 lb | GMC Page 1, First row, 4WD column |
| 6,000 lb Conventional | 2.7L TurboMax | Crew Cab, Not specified in chart | 4WD | 3.42 · AT4X · Proper equipment required. This row transcribes the OEM towing chart; order-guide availability is not independently verified. | 11,600 lb | GMC Page 1, Second row, footnote 3 |
| 5,500 lb Conventional | 2.7L TurboMax | Crew Cab, Not specified in chart | 4WD | 3.42 · AT4X AEV Edition · Proper equipment required. This row transcribes the OEM towing chart; order-guide availability is not independently verified. | 11,600 lb | GMC Page 1, Third row, footnote 4 |
What changes the number
- Engine and transmission
- Cab, bed, and wheelbase
- Two-wheel drive, four-wheel drive, or all-wheel drive
- Axle ratio and tow package
- Conventional hitch versus fifth-wheel versus gooseneck
- People, options, and cargo, which spend payload the chart assumed was empty
Questions
- How much can a 2026 GMC Canyon tow?
- The cited maximum for a 2026 GMC Canyon is 7,700 lb conventional. Crew Cab, 2.7L TurboMax, 3.42 axle and 13,250 lb GCWR. AT4X is 6,000 lb; AT4X AEV Edition is 5,500 lb.
- Did Canyon towing change for 2026?
- The 2026 Colorado chart is not copied onto the Canyon. Use the 2025 Canyon citation or a GMC label for a specific truck.
- Which configuration hits the maximum?
- Crew Cab, 2.7L TurboMax, 3.42 axle and 13,250 lb GCWR. AT4X is 6,000 lb; AT4X AEV Edition is 5,500 lb.
- What tongue weight should I plan for a 2026 Canyon?
- At the cited 7,700 lb conventional maximum, an illustrative 10% assumption produces 770 lb of tongue weight. This is not a recommended percentage or a measurement; follow your trailer and vehicle instructions and measure the actual load. That load counts against payload and the rear axle rating.
2024 · 2025 · All Canyon years